Swiss Rider Konny Looser Wins Seventh Title at 2023 Nedbank Desert Dash

Windhoek – Swiss cyclist Konny Looser clinched his seventh title at the 2023 Nedbank Desert Dash, dominating the solo rider’s category in this year’s championship. The 19th edition of the event commenced on December 8th at the Grove Mall in Windhoek and concluded on December 9th at the Platz Am Meer in Swakopmund.

According to Namibia Press Agency (NAMPA), Looser, who last secured the solo category of the Desert Dash in 2020, completed his race with a time of 14:51:17, crossing the line behind the four-person men’s team of Hollard. The team, comprising Ingrid Cuff, Andre Vermeulen, Clinton Hilfiger, and Gerhard Mans, finished with a time of 13:53:29. Looser finished 31 minutes behind Alex Miller and Philip Buys of Pyga Euro Steel/King Price, who won the two-person category and were the overall winners with a time of 14:20:11.

South African cyclist Dusty Day finished second in the solo category, clocking 16:01:35, nearly two hours behind Looser. Marc Pritzen, another South African rider, took third place in the men’s solo category with a time of 16:02:10.

The first Namibian rider to complete the men’s solo category was Tamati Ananias, finishing sixth with a time of 16:44:41.

In the women’s solo category, Belinda van Ryhn emerged victorious with a time of 18:47:41. German cyclist Nina Holtrup came in second with a time of 19:13:19, followed by South African Rebecca van Huyssteen with 19:50:48.

The two-person men’s category saw Adriaan Myburgh and Nico Sterk of Sterk Span Team claiming second place with 15:34:55, trailing behind Miller and Buys. Bramm Vermeulen and JG van Graan of King Price secured third place with 15:56:29.

In the four-person men’s category, Cymont, represented by Theuns van der Bank, Kevin Kevin, Casper Kruger, and Christiaan Jense van Rensburg, came in second with a time of 13:54:40.

For the first time, the Katutura-based NCCS Pro Cycling team, consisting of Gustav Basson, Gontse Lethokwe, Nolan Hoffman, and Blaine Conrad, won the four-person category with 14:28:14.

The four-person mixed team category was won by Mannie’s Bike Mecca, comprising Justus Beulker, Delsia Janse van Vuuren, Ada Kahl, and Adrian Key, with a time of 15:46:42. The two-person female category winners were Anri Kruger and Melissa Hinz of Hollard Ladies, finishing in 17:04:16.