Swakopmund Mayoral Elections Postponed Due to Tie

Swakopmund – The Swakopmund District Magistrate Lucia Elishi postponed the 2024 Swakopmund Municipality office-bearer elections on Thursday, following a tied vote between two candidates. The contenders for the mayoral position were incumbent Mayor Dina Namubes from the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) and Matthias Henrichsen of the Swakopmund Residents’ Association. The election process, involving eight councillors, ended with three votes for each candidate, two abstentions, and two absences.

According to Namibian Press Agency (NAMPA), As a result, Magistrate Elishi decided to reschedule the election to a later date. Meanwhile, the Walvis Bay Municipality re-elected IPC’s Trevino Forbes as mayor and Sarah Mutondoka as deputy mayor. The management committee positions were also retained by existing members, with Popular Democratic Movement’s (PDM) Richard Hoaeb remaining as the chairperson. Henties Bay re-elected Republican Party’s (RP) Lewies Vermaak as mayor and Swapo’s Renier Kamati as deputy mayor, with UDF’s Michael Skini continuing as the management committee’s chairperson.