Namibia inaugurates space science council

WINDHOEK: Minister of Higher Education, Education, Technology, and Innovation, Itah Kandjii-Murangi, on Wednesday inaugurated the national space science council, consisting of six members, a first for Namibia.

The council’s primary role, according to Kandjii-Murangi, is to advise the government on matters pertaining to space science and technology policy as well as regional and international instruments.

The newly appointed members are Peter Ndemuweda from the Namibia Defense Force, Riaan Steenkamp, an academic, Laban Hiwilepo, a telecommunications and electronics engineer, Eliakim Hamunyela, an environmental scientist, Loide Shaparara, a lawyer, and Victoria Munenge, an IT specialist. The members will serve for a period of three years.

‘The main functions of the council are to advise the commission on the development and implementation of a National Space Science and Technologies Agenda in all relevant sectors. Their functions include but are not limited to the review and implementation of National Space
Science Policy and Strategy, Ethics in Space Science research, identification of space science activities relevant to Namibia, as well as the promotion and development of space science research,’ Kandjii-Murangi said.

The council will further serve as a nexus for collaboration between academia, industry and government agencies.

Source: The Namibia Press Agency