Southern Africa: Angola At 8th Meeting of SADC Political Cooperation Body

An Angolan delegation is participating on 1-5 August in Maputo in the 8th ordinary meeting of the Political Cooperation, Defense and Security of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) aimed to discuss the region’s political, defense and security situation.

The documents to result from the meeting will be submitted to the next summit of SADC heads of state and government, to take place this August in the Kingdom of Swaziland.

The Angolan delegation is led by the Minister of National Defense, JoAPound o Lourenco, who is expected to arrive in Maputo on Wednesday.

Under the motto “Contributing to peace, stability and security in the SADC region”, the meeting will also discuss among other issues the regional strategy on gender-based violence.

The meeting will also consider the reports on the integration of the Republic of Burundi and the Comoros Islands to the region of SADC.

SADC groups Angola, South Africa, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Leshoto, Madagascar (currently suspended), Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Angolan delegation also includes Filomena Delgado, Minister of Family and Women Issues, Secretary of State for Interior, Bamoquina Zau, national director of SADC in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Sandro de Oliveira, and the second general commander of National police, Paulo de Almeida.

Source:Angola Press Agency.