Mozambique/Rwanda: Rwanda Unveils Squad for Mozambique Clash

Rwanda coach Johnathan McKinstry has named a 29-man squad for the crucial penultimate AFCON 2017 Group H qualifier against Mozambique on Saturday, 4 June 2016 in Kigali.

New faces in the squad include Rayon Sports pair of Emmanuel Imanishimwe and Thiery Manzi, midfielder Ali Niyonzima from Mukura VS and APR’s Patrick Sibomana.

Six foreign-based players led by skipper Haruna Niyonzima, Jean Baptista Mugiraneza, Gor Mahia duo of left back Abouba Sibomana and striker Jacques Tuyisenge, Salomon Nirisarike of Belgium outfit Sint-Truiden and Elias Uzamukunda of Le Mans in France were recalled.

The notable absentee is Swiss-based Quentin Rushenguziminega who features for Lausanne Sport.

Ahead of the Mozambique meeting, Amavubi will play host to Senegal in a friendly on Saturday, 28 May 2016 in Kigali, and Mckinstry is banking on the encounter to get his charges ready for the must-win clash.

“The game against Senegal will be a great test for the players, as they are currently one of the leading sides in Africa (ranked 4th). We wanted this type of game to ensure that the players would be well prepared a week later when we get down to the serious business of the Mozambique qualifier, and regardless of the result against Senegal- we will be looking for a level of performance that shows everyone is ready for the challenge that await seven days later.

“In terms of the make-up of the squad, I am pleased to welcome into the group a number of players who have shown good form in the league over recent months such as Rayon Sports duo of Thierry Manzi and Emmanuel Imanishimwe, Ali Niyonzima (Rayon Sports) and Patrick Sibomana (APR) – all of who have been competing well for their clubs recently.

“In addition to this, it is good to note that our forward players come into the camp in good form and scoring goals. This is always a positive sign; as we will be looking for them to continue in the yellow shirt of Rwanda what they have been producing for their club teams.

Rwanda currently sit second in Group H with six points, same number of points shy of Ghana, whom they face in the ultimate fixture of the qualifiers in September.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sports), Andre Mazimpaka (Mukura), Jean Claude Ndoli (APR), Marcel Nzarora (Police)

Defenders: Michel Rusheshangoga (APR), Fitina Omborenga (SC Kiyovu), Celestin Ndayishimiye (Mukura), Abouba Sibomana (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (Rayon Sports), Nirisrike Salomon (Sint-Truiden, Belgium), Emery Bayisenge (APR), Abdul Rwatubyaye (APR), Kayumba Soter (AS Kigali), Manzi Thierry (Rayon Sports)

Midfielders: Djihad Bizimana (APR), Imran Nshimiyimana (Police), Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza (Azam, Tanzania), Yannick Mukunzi (APR), Ali Niyonzima (Mukura), Innocent Habyarimana (Police), Patrick Sibomana (APR), Jean Claude Iranzi (APR), Hakizimana Muhadjiri (Mukura), Dominique Savio Nshuti (Rayon Sports), Habimana Yussufu (Mukura), Haruna Niyonzima (Young Africans, Tanzania)

Strikers: Danny Usengimana (Police), Elias Uzumakunda (Le Mans, France), Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Ernest Sugira (AS Kigali)

Source: Confederation of African Football