Debmarine Namibia Premiership launched

The 2023/24 Debmarine Namibia Premiership was launched here Monday with an increased sponsorship of N.dollars 18 million from the previous N.dollars 13 million.

Speaking during the team paring announcement at the Namibia Football Association Soccer House, League Administrator Mabos Vries said the intention of announcing the team paring is to see football being played in all towns with Premier League teams.

“The league will consist of 16 clubs with three new entries. Football Club Ongos will be the only new name change in the league this season as they were previously known as Tura Magic,” he said.

Vries added that the envisioned season was supposed to be played on single headers over weekends, but due to limited funds that is not possible.

“We are going to have a doubleheader weekend due to time limitations and limited funds. We are still seeking more funds so that we can one day have single headers,” he said adding that N.dollars 14 million of the N.dollars 18 million sponsorship will mostly go to team grants while the N.dollars 4 million will go for administration.

The 2023/24 Debmarine Namibia Premiership is slated to kick off over the weekend of 16 and 17 September 2023, with Blue Waters hosting newly promoted Okakarara Young Warriors at Vineta Stadium in Swakopmund.

Young Brazilian will also take on newly promoted Khomas NamPol at the J Stephanus Stadium in Keetmanshop. Young African will lock horns with FC Ongos at the Legare Stadium in Gobabis, and defending champions African Stars will start their campaign with a Katutura derby against Orlando Pirates at the Hage Geingob Stadium.

Rundu-based Julinho Sporting will host Life Fighters, while Okahandja United will take on UNAM FC at the Nau-Aib Stadium in Okahandja.

Sunday fixtures will see newly promoted Eeshoke Chula Chula taking on Mighty Gunners at the Oshakati stadium, and in the capital Civics and Tigers will play their opening match at the Sport Klub Windhoek stadium in Olympia.

All fixtures will kick off at 15h00 on Saturday and Sunday apart from the Eeshoke Chula Chula match which will be played at 14h00.

Source: Namibia Press Agency