Angola takes over SADC leadership

Angola has taken the helm of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) during the 43rd Summit of the Heads of State and Government of this organisation held in Luanda on August 17, 2023.

Angolan President João Lourenço heads the regional organisation, replacing Félix Tshisekedi of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The event is themed: “Human and financial capital: The key drivers for sustainable industrialisation of the SADC Region”.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an intergovernmental organization, created in 1992, and dedicated to the region’s social and economic cooperation and integration, as well as cooperation on policy and security issues.

The regional organization comprises Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Source: Angola Press News Agency (APNA)